Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pman1088

I have been dealing with off and on gremlins and felt like it was the actuator. EB not working, working too good, sticking on, turbo lag, higher exhaust temps, time to time U010C code, random poor performance….I’m no diesel mechanic, but with about 30 years of spinning wrenches I felt like it was the actuator and not the turbo. I combed threads and videos and decided on the City Diesel Actuator and got it from Geno’s. They quoted me 7/31/21 for estimated delivery, and I figured I would be limping it for a month and a half, but to my surprise about 2 weeks after order, it arrived. Awesome!!

My question is for those with experience in this arena. I drained my system and removed the stock actuator. Hard to say how the board and inside of the gears looks because I don’t have that funky 5 point security bit needed to crack it open, but it appears to have had a coolant leak. I can find no evidence of the leak on or around the turbo, and nothing that makes me think it’s coming from the cooling lines above the actuator. My suspicion is the gasket around the cooling port on the actuator failed and it leaked some. I was never low on coolant so I feel like it crusted up a bit and stopped leaking on its own. The gasket appears very flat on the upper side of the actuator. Manual inspection of the actuator arm tells me the VGT is moving as it should, so I’m thinking I diagnosed correctly and the City Diesel actuator will save my day. I just want to be sure I’m not missing an obvious leak somewhere other then what I suspect as I don’t want to eventually ruin the new actuator with a problem that could be solved right now. Does this old actuator appear “normal” for what they look like when removed? 2016 2500 with 130k.