Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boonhauler

Hey Guys:

Thought I'd check in here with all of you. It's time for a headlight upgrade on my 2005 3500. I've been running a Brite Box / Fogster upgrade for many years but the Brite Box has failed so it's time to do something about it.

Additionally, I want to install new headlight housings, my original housing are really clouded up and they will not buff out.

Any ideas on upgrades other than replacing the Brite Box? .... Thanks for your responses

boonhauler , Sep 16, 2020
  2. CJ8Rockcrawler TDR MEMBER

I'm interested in the recommendations as I went with aftermarket factory style housings and supposedly quality LED headlights and have been very disappointed.

The light performance has been great, but they cause terrible radio interference even after several attempts to mitigate and I have a reoccurring lamp out warning on the dash that goes away by cycling the lights on and off. Both issues, the seller touts as not being a problem with their product.

CJ8Rockcrawler , Sep 16, 2020
  3. Ozymandias TDR MEMBER

Ozymandias , Sep 16, 2020
    Blakers, outlaw1sammy and AH64ID like this.
  4. jghflys

They may be good, but are not DOT approved and not street legal according to the retrofit site. Inspectors in Texas check lights for DOT approval. Inspections vary by state so take care on your purchases of upgraded lighting. You may spend your money on lights that will not pass inspection.

jghflys , Sep 17, 2020
    Tuesdak likes this.
  5. boonhauler

boonhauler , Sep 17, 2020
    Ozymandias likes this.
  6. Ozymandias TDR MEMBER

Ozymandias , Sep 18, 2020
  7. MartyK

Ozy,

Did you send them your headlights to modify or did they supply the headlights? If they supplied, how was the fit and finish? Which options did you choose? Can you post a picture of yours.

Thanks,
    Marty

MartyK , Sep 19, 2020
  8. Ozymandias TDR MEMBER

Hi, I ordered with new housings. He is using TYC units for it.