1. Dkevdog

OK- I'm no electrical engineer, but I would think that my batteries (2 deep cycle Interstates) on my 5er should be staying charged a bit longer than 2-3 weeks in storage. So I'm assuming that something is draining them (duh!):rolleyes: BUT! What should I start checking first? The obvious is already checked, I don't have a 12v fridge, the break away is connected, there are no lights or devices that have been left on, etc. Any ideas:confused:

Kev

Dkevdog , Feb 5, 2002
  2. Fuzz

Power Theifs?

You have probably done these but anyway... .

Some TV's have an instant on feature. . uses power when off

Propane,Carbon MOnoxide detectors,use power when wired into

system.

Our new 5er has a Battery disconnect switch. Good idea.

'course could just take a cable off the batteries.

On our old 5er I had homemade battery disconnect. . Both halves of a 220V dryer plug and receptle. . crude but it worked.

Might suggest to disconnect the POS cable and put a 12V ckt tester light between the cable and the battery post. If it lights,

something is ON. Pull the fuses one at a time in the fuse box to isolate the circuit. . But if it is a parasite draw(propane detector etc)

leave the cable off or rig up a disconnet switch.

Maybe give you some ideas,or not(G)

Fuzz

Fuzz , Feb 5, 2002
  3. georgej

Dkevdog,

Usually a gas detector and/or a display in a stereo with the time of day displayed is still drawing amperage. Check the 12 volt panel to see if the rv manufacturor included a disconnect switch. Also some power converters let you leave the rv plugged in all the time and keep the batteries charged and desulfieded by "execisizing" them everyday!

Hope this helps, George

georgej , Feb 5, 2002
  4. icarus33

Here's from a friends frustrating experience. His new Wildcat was doing the exact same thing except batteries dead in 5 days. Had gas detector disconnected, stereo etc. no change. Dealer replaced both batteries and same thing, they had no clue.