Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SJBrooks

Hi all,

While my Bridgestone M729 245/70R19.5 tires and Rickson wheels are AWESOME for hauling my 5th wheel, they're really harsh to use around town and out on the road un-/lightly-loaded. For those with 19.5" tire experience, what's the lowest pressure to safely run those tires at?

Thanks!

Steve

SJBrooks , Apr 13, 2023
  2. mpaulson

Following. I’m new to 19.5’s too on my 2023 DRW. Going by the load inflation chart for my Firestones, it shows the G,F&E ratings and no where can I find info from there site as to if I can run my G rated tires into the F & E load rating/psi ranges. Right now I’ve gone down to 65-70 on the rear but I’ve only driven it less than 1,000 km since I got it new. Fronts I’m running 75 psi. I’d like to go as low as 60 psi in the rear, but these tires beads don’t seat like a LT truck tire and risk the beads moving from too low of pressure from what I’ve read.

mpaulson , Apr 13, 2023
  3. seafish

As you probably know already, most all commercial 19.5 tires and wheels are NOT beadlocked.
    I have run my Rickson forged aluminum wheels with Toyo commercial tires as low as 65psi and even then it really doesn't help with the ride.

If you can, the best, albeit most expensive solution is to run 2 sets of wheels...the 19.5 set fort owing and hauling and the 17" for arounf town. This works for me as I mostly haul in the dry months and use a set of 17" RT tires on the oem wheels for the winter moths when I beed them. Needless to say, the truck ride iMUCH better in the winter.

seafish , Apr 13, 2023
  4. Ozymandias TDR MEMBER

No matter what pressure you are running - ride quality is only bad or worse.
    The Load Index of these tires is simply much to high, their side walls much to stiff, for these light trucks - even without any air in them it would be still harsh.

The reason for me to sell them and settle for 18" rims and tires instead. Biggest money loss ever with this truck.