Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rjohnson916

So I spent the day in a 6-speed today. Today was kind of a treat, I took a 6-speed ‘06 out today to show to a client and since I drive an ‘05 48re equipped CTD as my daily driver, this was the most “seat time” I’ve had to experience a real hand shaker. I’m no novice with a manual transmission by the way, my last six vehicles have been manual trans and the auto CTD I own currently is my first automatic in some 7-8 years. A couple point’s I noted in my 3-4 hour excursion, the G56 shifts with precision and finesse. I’m guessing it just takes time getting used to the drive-train but I could not for the life of me get a smooth clutch engagement without bucking the clutch/ trans slightly, hopefully it’s not the truck. . Thank goodness for the aftermarket and downloaders, for some reason no matter how much pedal I would through the truck, I could at best only barely keep pace with traffic and yes I was starting in 2nd every time. I had minivans, Ford Tauruses and other middle of the road traffic passing me up between the shift points. In my auto, even when stock just mashing the go pedal slightly got me ahead of traffic and passing most cars with confidence. Some positives, driving the same highway I drive in my personal CTD to work everyday, I found the 6-speed to be more at home and pull harder. For instance, I gave it some pedal on a particular grade I drive daily in my (auto) CTD, flooring it from the base of the hill starting at around 60 mph to the top gets me about 82 mph +/-. I left the 6-speed in 6th and accelerated from about 65 mph mid way up the grade and the truck was dog on near 90 mph and still pulling hard, although closer to readline than what I’m usually comfortable with. What I really liked was how easy it was to control or get power from this configuration in any gear higher than 2nd. My verdict is although I really enjoyed the G56 and the long box chassis, I now have a new respect for my ‘0