Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaddySquatch

First, sorry for the lengthy post, just want to be clear about what I am looking for to get the best input I can from folks on TDR

Currently have a 2004.5 2500 QC, LB 6sp. Love everything about the truck except the fact that te cab is not a true crew cab. I have 2 growing kids, it's getting too tight for all of us on long road trips. Decided to start looking into selling mine and buying a Mega Cab, that's where I am looking for advice and experience from all of you.

Use of the vehicle will be as a work truck and family road trip vehicle. I am a carpenter, need a truck to haul around tools and materials, pull some light trailers up to maybe 6000 lbs. Don't own or plan to get a heavy camper. Realistically 90 % of the time not pulling trailer. Fuel economy important to me , my current Cummins gets 22 - 24 on the highway during warm weather months, sits at 1700 rpm at 60 mph in 6th on the flat. NV5600. With winter fuel and using 4x4 a good deal in the snow been getting 18 mixed driving. Truck is stock.

So, my main questions:

My budget will keep me looking at older Mega Cabs, 2006 to 2008 or so. Thoughts on 5.9 vs the 6.7? Do the 6.7s do well with fuel economy once deleted? Best just to stick with the 5.9?

All of my life I have only had trucks with manual transmissions. From little 4 cylinders to all of my Dodges. Like picking my gears, as well as control in bad weather. Mega Cabs are hard to find in a manual, and it seems that other than a small manufacturing window, all of the 5.9 models have the first gen G56 transmissions. My major concern with it is the gear ratios, given that I am not doing too much pulling. Don't want to lose the low rpm highway mileage that I currently get with the NV5600. Thoughts on the 48re? Given my intended use, does it seem like a reasonable option? Or do I look at an 07/08 that has been deleted for the newer 68rfe 6 sp auto? Stay away from autos all together?