1. 6speed3rdgen

i have a 03 5.9 6 speed. The truck is completely bone stock other then a fuel system and an exhaust. Recently the truck has been down on power intermittently. It has good fuel to the cp3. The injector return flow is more then below spec, about 80ml in a minute. The rail pressure relief valve is not leaking. The FCA is new so thats not the problem. I watched rail pressure on the way home the other day and it follows the target presssure pretty darn close. I seen it vary a 100 psi every now and again but nothing drastic. Another thing is the exhaust has this ticking noise. Sounds like someones in the exhaust smacking the down pipe with the firing if the engine. It seems the more down on power the louder the ticking is. Possible injector? It has gone away upon start up but is usually back within a couple miles or so. I am a diesel tech so i know my way around the truck. Im just at a loss. Injectors only have about 5-6,000 miles on them. Any help would be appreciated

6speed3rdgen , Jun 1, 2019
  2. p-Bar

Hows your boost? Throwing any codes? put a reader on anyways.

p-Bar , Jun 1, 2019
  3. 6speed3rdgen

Boost is maybe a pound lower at wide open. No codes other then lift pump circuit high cause its unplugged

6speed3rdgen , Jun 2, 2019
  4. cerberusiam Staff Member

The 80 ml per minute is an invalid number for injector return flow, redo the injector return flow test with the correct procedures as a start.

What are your cylinder contribution readings? What is the rpm drop for each cylinder that looks off? What are the CP-3 return flow values?What ranges of load did you log demanded vs actual of rail pressure?

Exactly WHAT were the injectors that you replaced? New Bosch? Remans? Internet junk?

Based on your description 2 things come to mind; injector hanging open adn the charge is still firing as the exhaust valve opens, or, you have a valve dropped. Did you pull the VC, check lash and rocker position?

cerberusiam , Jun 2, 2019
  5. sag2 TDR MEMBER