Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JSzewczyk TDR MEMBER

I just had my jake brake installed by the dealer and got no manual. As I'm new to both diesels and exhaust brakes, I was hoping that some the more experienced drivers can help me out with the when to use, when not to use questions as well as any cautions that I need to be aware of. I pull a 32 foot Jayco travel trailer around. Any thoughts or comments would be appreciated.

JSzewczyk , Mar 13, 2007
  2. Cattletrkr

There is no wrong time to use it, except for on ice. Other than that, whenever you feel like flipping the switch, have at it. :)

Cattletrkr , Mar 13, 2007
  3. CSkal

What he said!

I use it all the time, I only use the service brakes to complete my stops at low speeds. As far as ice and snow go, I find that in 2 HI the back end can kick around on me :eek: , but when in 4WD, I get equal braking front and rear that works nicely. :)

CSkal , Mar 13, 2007
  4. ScottLewis

Go to the Jacobs Brake web site and download the Driving Instructions Manual, as well as parts manual and other info. It's not a lot of info you can't get elsewhere but it is condensed and brand specific.

www.jakebrake.com

Dan

ScottLewis , Mar 13, 2007
  5. klenger

6. JSzewczyk TDR MEMBER

thanks for the info. I looked on Dodge's web site put could not find the manuals.

JSzewczyk , Mar 13, 2007
  7. jelag

As a distributor of pacbrake for the past 20 years... . we suggest to all customers they leave it on... and learn to turn it on and off with their foot resting on the throttle... . This has several benefits.....

1 - you learn the ins and outs so to speak of how it works... . and when its best to use it... . we have 6 trucks and the brake is left on 100% of the time... our drivers have learned to use the brake in town when in traffic and on the highway when going down hill...