1. Bdod324

I’m new to the diesel truck world and have recently purchased a 09 Mega cab 4x4 with 68 rfe. It has 150k miles and I do not know the service history so I’ve been changing fluids and filters. I’m wanting to change the fluid and filters in the transmission. What are you thought and experiences?

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 23, 2022
    Bdod324 , May 21, 2018
  2. Jim W TDR MEMBER

I change my transmission filters and fluid every 40,000 miles, I tow heavy and I feel this will prolong the transmission life. I do have the deep dish Mag-Hytec transmission pan on my transmission also. So, this adds about 2.5 QRTS of transmission fluid to the transmission. A couple of other members have posted that they have achieve over 200,000 + miles of trouble free service of their transmission by changing the fluids per Dodge/Ram maintenance schedule.

You will need two filters for your transmission one is a spin on filter and the other is the normal transmission filter. I do purchase all of my filters from Geno's Garage which is this site sponsor for TDR.

Jim W , May 21, 2018
    Bdod324 likes this.
  3. transe

• Use fluid that is labeled as being ATF+4 (not "compatible with" ATF+4 or "recommended for" ATF+4).
    • Use Mopar filters
    • HAND-tighten the spin-on filter (like you would a spin-on engine oil filter). Just snug it up 1/2 to 3/4 turn BY HAND after the gasket touches the case. Do not overtighten or you can crack the threaded plastic snout.
    • Check the old seal (in the pump housing) for the primary (flat) filter. If it's not damaged / cut, and is still tight and secure in its bore, just leave it there are re-use it. It's easy to mis-install a new seal (leaving it cocked in the bore, which will give problems!) so it's best to just leave it be if it's OK. The new filter will likely come with a new seal but you don't have to replace it.