Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Royk

I'd like to replace the clunky, old AM/FM/CD player with something modern with a touchscreen, backup camera capability, Bluetooth, etc. I don't have steering wheel controls, so that's not a requirement. I'd like to have phone mirroring so I can use my iPhone's GPS on the radio display. Any suggestions?

Royk , Aug 23, 2020
  2. Wiredawg

There's a lot of choices including installation kits with replacement center dash piece. I bought my niece one on Ebay a couple years ago for around $300. Easy to install, complete kit.
    Screenshot_20200823-060828_eBay.jpg #ad

Lots of choices/ brands. Check Crutchfield too.

Cheers, Ron

Wiredawg , Aug 23, 2020
  3. ScottLewis

I recently installed a ATOTO A6 in my '06. I'm still learning how to use all the functions since I haven't driven much since the install. It is an Android that can mirror your phone, has rear view and forward view camera inputs and several USB connectors. It also has a steering wheel gadget to control radio volume, etc. as a separate option. I've rigged it up so I can view any one of 3 cameras in reverse (back-up, bed cam and RV rear view) I can also toggle RV rear view wile driving. A kit from Amazon gives it a factory look and modifying the opening to fit the 2 Din radio wasn't too bad. My pictures aren't great but should give an idea of the appearance
    radio screen 2.jpg #ad
    map screen.jpg #ad

SW control.jpg #ad

silver dash kit 2.jpg #ad

installed.jpg #ad

ScottLewis , Aug 23, 2020
  4. jghflys

Check the Crutchfield site. There are lots of options and reviews there and they have technical support. Here is the radio change I did in my truck.

jghflys , Aug 23, 2020
  5. ScottLewis

Make sure the kit you buy is correct for the dash in your truck. I THINK the '05 and '06 are different with the '06 having half moon cutouts on the sides. The Amazon kit I bought has the antenna adapter and wiring harness pigtail included and was about $30